The application process for the scholarships offered in 2019/2020 is closed. Please scroll down for the list of recipients!

Scholarships funded by each chapter are provided by the Stephen Bufton Memorial Education Fund (SBMEF). SBMEF provides educational grants and scholarships to women pursuing post-secondary educational goals as well as ongoing professional development. 

To be eligible for a SBMEF scholarship, applicants must be female, a citizen of the United States, enrolled in a licensed, accredited or state-approved institution, and meet other eligibility criteria set by individual chapters.


The Stephen Bufton Memorial Education Fund has awarded over $17,000,000 of scholarships since 1953.

Eastern Michigan Council & National Scholarship Recipients 2019/2020

Anna Leonard, Greater Oakland Charter Chapter, Marian High School

Impact Scholarship Recipient

Rachel Hendrian, Novi Oaks Charter Chapter, Farmington High School

Impact Scholarship Recipient

Megan Hibbs, Novi Oaks Charter Chapter, Madonna University

Impact Scholarship Recipient

Piper Caverson, Suburban Connection Charter Chapter, Caverson Academy/Schoolcraft College

Impact Scholarship Recipient

Doreen Hammond-Okyere, attending Tennessee State University

$10,000 National President’s scholarship in Honor of 2018-2019 President, Felicia Johnson

Adriana Dutra, Attending California Polytechnic State University

$2500 National scholarship in Honor of Carlene Brown

Chimmuanya Iheanyi-Igwe, attending University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

$2500 National scholarship in Memory of Betty “Betsy” Tudor

Grace Hanna, attending Ohio University

$2500 National scholarship in Memory of Beloved Member, Jane Nicklay

Cassidy Jones, Attending Texas A & M

$2500 National Scholarship in Memory of Beloved member, Kris Ann Martin

The mission of the American Business Women’s Association is to bring together business women of diverse occupations and to provide opportunities for them to help themselves and others grow personally and professionally through leadership, education, networking support and national recognition.

© 2020 by ABWA EMC.
Proudly created with

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram